HAR YOU Percussion Group

Songs of the Ghetto Youth

A fantastic mix of funky bass, heavy drums, burning horn lines and soulful vocals, this Latin-soul group was the exciting result of the Harlem Youth Act of 1964. Led by master conga player Montego Joe, this ranks as one of the great Latin releases of all-time and has become a highly-sought after classic amongst DJs, dance enthusiasts, and record collectors. Digitally remastered in digipak format, Songs of the Ghetto Youth features the monster tracks "Welcome to the Party," "Feed Me Good," and "Oua-Train". As a bonus, there is a track where leader Montego Joe reminisces about the HAR YOU project.


Roger 'Montego Joe' Sanders, Allen Ray, Nelson Sanamiago, Joffre Marchand, Stafford Osborne, Dennis Taitt, David 'Mousie' Edmead, Nick Kirksey, John Moody, Andrei Strobert, Joseph Jimenez, Gordon 'Spider' Jones , Myles Matthews, Sam Turner, Billy King, Antonio Santa Cruz 

Track Listing

1.Feed Me Good3:132.Barretts Bag4:423.Ngoma5:584.Oua-Train5:255.Welcome To The Party4:006.Santa Cruz5:517.Tico6:058.HAR YOU Theme1:549.Montego Joe's HAR YOU Postscript 200813:40

All compositions ESP-Disk' Ltd. (ASCAP)


Production manager: Tom Abbs. Digital remastering by Douglas McGregor. Design & Layout by Miles Bachman & Fumi Tomita.

Press Quotes

“Quite simply one of the wildest Afro-Latin club bangers you will ever hear!” – Tunes.co.uk

"The rhythmic sense is incredibly mature, the drumming stellar, and the grooves are consistently in the pocket. A must-hear". - Sarah Bardeen

Musicians: Roger 'Montego Joe' Sanders / Allen Ray / Nelson Sanamiago / Joffre Marchand / Stafford Osborne / Dennis Taitt / David 'Mousie' Edmead / Nick Kirksey / John Moody / Andrei Strobert / Joseph Jimenez / Gordon 'Spider' Jones / Myles Matthews / Sam Turner / Billy King / Antonio Santa Cruz

Play the samples

Digital download Choice of WAVS or MP3s
Compact Disk In Digipack with liner notes
  • Product Code: ESP1067
  • Reward Points: 300
  • Availability: In Stock
  • CD $9.98
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart