Albert Ayler

The Heliocentric Worlds of Sun Ra, Volume 3: The Lost Tapes

Heliocentric Worlds volume 3 is the continuation of the Heliocentric Worlds volume 2 session, recorded the same day and with the same personnel, that had been lost for nearly 40 years. Recently, the tapes were discovered, digitally remastered, and are now available for the first time. totally -unreleased studio material - continuation of the session hailed as a “...masterpiece of free jazz”.


Walter Miller (tp)
Robert Cummings (bcl)
Marshall Allen (as, fl, picc)
John Gilmore (ts)
Pat Patrick (bars, fl)
Sun Ra (clavioline, p, tuned bgo)
Ronnie Boykins (b)
Roger Blank (d, per)

Track Listing

1.Intercosmosis17:032.Mythology Metamorphosis4:153.Heliocentric Worlds4:164.World Worlds5:075.Interplanetary Travelers5:06 


RLA Sound Studios, New York, New York (11/16/1965)

Press Quotes

"The most notable track, 'Heliocentric Worlds', is primarily an atmospheric Ra piano solo over Roger Blank's inventive percussive overlay and Ronnie Boykins's steady bass pulsations." - The Wire

Musicians: Walter Miller / Robert Cummings / Marshall Allen / John Gilmore / Pat Patrick / Sun Ra / Ronnie Boykins / Roger Blank

Play the samples

Digital download Choice of WAVS or MP3s
  • Product Code: ESP4002
  • Availability: In Stock
  • MP3 Download $12.98
  • Digital Download $8.99

Add to Cart