Matthew Shipp


In the first part of his career, Matthew Shipp avoided solo recordings, saying he wasn't ready – and the first solo album he made, Symbol Systems, happened by accident when the other player on the session didn't show up. Since then, his style expanded and matured and he recorded prolifically, including a number of solo albums, but they have remained special events, distinct statements of purpose. Zero continues in this tradition; its philosophical basis can be gleaned from the lecture on the bonus CD. But, of course, it is the music itself which speaks most eloquently.

Please note that the tune titled "Zero" is not the same as a previous Shipp composition of the same title.

Only the first edition (first 880 copies) of this album will include the bonus CD containing the talk Mr. Shipp gave at The Stone.

Track List:

01 Zero                                                5:31

02 Abyss Before Zero                        3:48

03 Pole After Zero                             3:19

04 Piano Panels                                  4:13

05 Cosmic Sea                                    3:43

06 Zero Skip and a Jump                   2:11

07 Zero Subtract From Jazz             6:35

08 Blue Equation                               5:14

09 Pattern Emerge                            2:46

10 Ghost Pattern                               1:39

11 After Zero                                      5:12

Total time                                         44:11

Bonus CD:

01 Zero: A Lecture on Nothingness     62:58

Matthew Shipp: piano (CD 1), voice (bonus CD)

Steve Dalachinsky: liner notes

Press Quotes:

"Matthew Shipp has become an elder statesman in the jazz world. How that happened can be boiled down to two simple elements. One: he has created a unique sound and language for improvised music and two: Shipp has become a doyen of cutting edge music making and opinion." – Mark Corroto, All About Jazz

"[A]n aspect of Shipp's character that is always evident, yet seldom discussed: the emotional commitment in his compositional method is equal to the rigorous intellect he applies in the architecture of creation." – Thom Jurek,, re: solo album Piano Sutras

"The jazz world does not lack for fine pianists, but those who can sustain listener interest through an extended solo set always have been in shorter supply. These days, few pack their soliloquies with more information, drama and free-ranging thought than Matthew Shipp." – Howard Reich, Chicago Tribune

Musicians: Matthew Shipp

Digital download With cover and liner notes. Downloads do not include lecture.
Compact Disk Digipak with bonus lecture CD in the first edition only.
  • Product Code: ESP5022
  • Availability: In Stock
  • 2CD $12.98
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart

Related Products

with The Uppercut: Live at Okuden

with The Uppercut: Live at Okuden

Matthew Shipp, the supreme jazz pianist of his generation, and Mat Walerian, the finest Polish jazz..


with the group Jungle: Live at Okuden

with the group Jungle: Live at Okuden

From the liner notes: "Stepping into the Silence, this is literary music, epic little bouts of bril..


with the group Toxic: This Is Beautiful Because We Are Beautiful People

with the group Toxic: This Is Beautiful Because We Are Beautiful People

This is Polish multi-instrumentalist Mat Walerian’s third CD, all for ESP and all with Matthew Shi..


Sonic Fiction

Sonic Fiction

After a duo album and two trio albums by Shipp and Walerian, all for ESP-Disk', we get a quartet a..