Top Menu View Cart

ESP 4054 ESP 1002
ESP 1021
ESP 1027 ESP 4053 ESP 4065
"You have never heard such sounds in you life"

Main Menu

Browse Catalog by

ESP 3026

Ronnie Boykins - The Will Come, Is Now

ESP 3026

Add to Cart
320 kps MP3 DRM Free
98.51 MB zipped


In digipak with liner notes
Re-mastered from origial tapes
Digital download included
2009 Reissuel Pack
Reissue Pack
Add to Cart
Digital downloads FOR EACH RELEASE included!
3$ off each CD
View Cart  

Legendary Sun Ra-bassist Ronnie Boykins stepped out on his own for his first and only release as a leader on, "The Will Come, Is Now".   He was invited by ESP in 1964 to record his own album, and in February 1974, he told ESP that he was finally ready, and the session took place later that month.  This recording not only features Boykins' solid abilities as a bassist, including his marvelous arco work, but also his talents as a composer and arranger.  In addition, one is treated to an all-natural bass sound, a rare sound during this particular era of jazz history.  In septet format, Boykins' six originals create a variety of moods and textures that not only evokes the music of Sun Ra but also reflects Boykins' own sensibilities as an artist.



Marzette Watts (engineer)
Ronnie Boykins (bass, sousaphone , bells, shaker)
Joe Ferguson (flute, soprano sax, tenor sax, shaker)
Art Lewis (percussion, drums, bells, shaker)
Jimmy Vass (flute, alto sax, soprano sax, bells, shaker
Monty Waters (alto, soprano, bells, shaker)
George Avaloz (conga, bells, shaker)
Daoud Haroom (trombone, bells, shaker)

Track Listing

1. The Will Come, Is Now

Starlight At The Wonder Inn

3. Demon's Dance
4. Dawn Is Evening, Afternoon
5. Tipping On Heels
6. The Third I

All compositions by Ronnie Boykins (Syndicore Music BMI)


Engineered by Marzette Watts
Original cover photograph by Gyda Droscher
Production Manager: Tom Abbs
Digitally remastered by Douglas McGregor
Design & Layout by Miles Bachman, Michael Sanzone and Fumi Tomita.


Press Quotes

Rather than a high-energy screamfest, the selections have loosely arranged sections, a few strong melodies, and the utilization of an interesting seven-piece unit. - Scott Yanow (AMG)

"Bassist Ronnie Boykins is perhaps best known for his work in Sun Ra's Arkestra, of which he was an intrinsic member for nearly a decade. His inimitable bass style can be heard on all of Ra's most significant recordings, and Ra had a difficult time finding someone to fill Boykins' shoes when he left the Arkestra in 1966. His 1975 self-titled release, featuring all original material, is from his post Ra period and represents one of the last great releases in the ESP-Disk catalogue. Featuring Joe Ferguson on tenor sax and flute, Monty Waters and James Vass on alto and soprano sax, Daoud Haroom on trombone, and Art Lewisand George Avaloz on percussion. Also includes various bells and hand shaken instruments played by all musicians." - Forced Exposure

ESP 4059
ESP 1067
ESP 4047
ESP 4049
ESP 4045
ESP 4044
ESP 1098
ESP 4060


ESP News The Artists New Releases Discography Live Shows The Lounge Subscribe to feed Subscribe to feed Store Policy ESP History Contact ESP Links Retailers