Albert Ayler

Spirits Rejoice

Live recording of Ayler's large septet configuration, featuring brother Donald, Charles Tyler, Sunny Murray and both Henry Grimes and Gary Peacock on bass. Compared to the bare trio of Spiritual Unity, this nearly big band of two bass players and a strong horn section allows Ayler's expressive vision depth from the joyous to the aggressive in Ayler's five original compositions. The digitally remastered recording was originally made at 30 ips instead of the usual 15, giving it excellent fidelity.

Recorded Sept. 23, 1965 at Judson Hall, New York. Engineer: David Hancock. Back cover layout & design: Paul Costuros. Photos: Guy Kopelowicz. Cover: Ellen Lefark. Remastering: Joe Phillips, Wild Cat Recording USA. Layout: Davy Meyer

Musicians: Albert Ayler / Donald Ayler / Charles Tyler / Sunny Murray / Call Cobbs / Henry Grimes / Gary Peacock

Play the samples

Digital download Choice of WAVS or MP3s
Compact Disk Digipak with session photos
Long Playing ESP-Disk's first vinyl edition in decades of this classic 1965 blowout restores the original front-cover art. 50th Anniversary remaster. CURRENTLY UNAVAILABLE
  • Product Code: ESP1020
  • Reward Points: 300
  • Availability: In Stock
  • CD $12.99
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart