Charles Manson

Charles Manson Sings

Charles Manson visited New York City in the early '60s with his guitar and his songs in a vain search for recognition. In Beverly Hills, famous musicians gave him their studio to produce this album. He has vocal backup from the women of the "family". During a stay in a San Francisco prison, he met a fellow inmate, and gave him the album to release. While Manson was being tried and convicted of participation in the murder spree, the government attempted to discredit the hippie movement by citing him as an example, hoping to defuse the rising tide of anger among the population over the war in Viet Nam.

Because his songs were considered musically and historically significant, this record was released briefly by ESP in 1974. For many years, all royalties were paid to the son of one of the victims to fulfill a judgment against Manson.

The CD and the download both have 12 bonus tracks. The newly reissued vinyl and cassette tapes have the original 14-song program, but the free downloads that comes with them when you buy here include all the bonus tracks.


Charles Manson: lead vocals, rhythm guitar, tympani

Bobby Beausoleil: electric guitar

Paul Watkins: french horn

Catherine Shore: violin

Dianne Lake: recorder

Steve Grogan: electric bass

Mary Brunner: flute, vocals on Track 4

Nancy Pittman: vocals on Track 6

Sandra Good, Catherine Share, Lynette Fromme, Nancy Pittman & Cho-Cho: backup vocals

Recorded: 9/11/67. Overdubs: 8/9/68. Produced by Phil 12258cal. Reissue Engineer: Douglas McGregor. Production Manager: Tom Abbs. Design & layout by Paul Costuros, Miles Bachman & Fumi Tomita.

Track Listing:

1. Look at Your Game, Girl 2:00

2. Ego 2:26

3. Mechanical Man 3:15

4. People Say I'm No Good 3:16

5. Home Is Where You're Happy 1:26

6. Arkansas 3:02

7. I'll Never Say Never to Always 0:39

8. Garbage Dump 2:32

9. Don't Do Anything Illegal 2:49

10. Sick City 1:31

11. Cease to Exist 2:10

12. Big Iron Door 1:08

13. I Once Knew a Man 2:31

14. Eyes of a Dreamer 2:32

15. Devil Man 2:30

16. More You Love 1:40

17. Two Pair of Shoes 1:56

18. Maiden with Green Eyes (Remember Me) 1:24

19. Swamp Girl 1:57

Press Quotes

"None of these songs are threatening or confrontational; the material is introspective folk-rock and soft rock." - Alex Henderson, All Music Guide

"There are moments of undeniable chilly beauty like the female acappella I'll Never Say Never To Always, but there is also some schmaltzy Vegas-styled hokum like Eyes of a Dreamer as well." - George Parsons, Dream Magazine

Musicians: Charles Manson / Bobby Beausoleil / Paul Watkins / Catherine Shore / Dianne Lake / Steve Grogan / Mary Brunner / Nancy Pittman / Sandra Good / Catherine Share / Lynette Fromme / Nancy Pittman / Cho-Cho

Play the samples

Digital download Choice of WAVs or MP3s
Compact Disk Digipak Bonus tracks
Long Playing 180-gram red vinyl Original program Digital download included that contains all bonus tracks as well as the original program
Cassette Tape Co-release with Personal Affair cassette label. Original art J-card, limited edition new art sleeve.
  • Product Code: ESP2003
  • Availability: In Stock
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart