Buck Curran

Morning Haikus, Afternoon Ragas

On his second solo album (both co-released by ESP-Disk' and Curran's Obsolete Recordings), the emphasis switches to acoustic guitar. Side A, all solo acoustic instrumentals, seems to have fallen out of a wormhole emanating from Takoma Records in the 1970s. There's some of that on side B as well, but also vocals and other instruments, sometimes overdubbed, and the dedication of "Taurus" to Peter Green, guitarist extraordinaire of the original lineup of Fleetwood Mac (when it was a blues band), hints at the breadth of Curran's influences. The introduction of other timbres and textures doesn't diminish the intimate, almost meditational mood, though.

CD/downloads available now. Vinyl can be preordered and will be shipped by the end of June, with a free download included sent immediately.


Buck Curran: vocals, guitars, harmonium, flute, banjo. Adele Pappalardo: vocals on "Dirt Floor."

Track list/times

A1. Song for Liam (2:36)

A2. Improvisation 1 (1:52)

A3. River Unto Sea (5:38)

A4. Song for Shylah (3:38)

A5. Summer Street (4:22)

A6. Francesco Joaquin's Morning Haiku (1:59)

B1. Improvisation 2 (0:38)

B2. The Sun Also Rises (5:06)

B3. Taurus (4:28)

B4. Compane Del Sabato Mattina (3:56)

B5. Dirt Floor (2:26)

B6. Sea of Polaris (5:03)

Press Quotes for Immortal Light: 

"Guitar tones linger and reverberate with a mystical translucence." - Dusted

 "The wonderful new Buck Curran LP on ESP-Disk', as gorgeous a psychedelic folk record as can be in 2016." - Jeff Conklin, host of The Avant Ghetto on WFMU

"Curran's first album under his own name invokes swarming natural forces, looking for the borderline between the real and the sublime and, maybe, the supernatural." - Jesse Jarnow, Relix

"Psych folk masterpiece shines bright." - Sid Smith, Prog

"Curran has successfully tapped into that natural beauty and created a slice of alt-folk that is as engrossing as anything you’re likely to hear." - Folk Radio UK 

Musicians: Buck Curran

Digital download Choice of WAVs or MP3s
Compact Disk Digipak
Long Playing Includes free download sent via WeTransfer after we receive your order.
  • Product Code: ESP5028
  • Availability: In Stock
  • CD $12.98
  • LP $20.00
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart

Related Products

Fortress of the Sun

Fortress of the Sun

Among the most artistically successful alchemists of Indie Psychedelic Folk, Maine-based duo Arbore..


Immortal Light

Immortal Light

Immortal Light is the debut solo album by Psychedelic Folk guitarist-singer-songwriter Buck Curran...


No Love Is Sorrow

No Love Is Sorrow

OUT NOW! Vinyl, CDs, and Downloads available!No Love Is Sorrow is the third solo album by American..


One Evening and Other Folk Songs

One Evening and Other Folk Songs

Buck Curran says: “The foundation of this recording is the musical chemistry between Jodi Pedrali ..