Alan Sondheim & Azure Carter


PRE-ORDER: Release date October 30, 2020

Alan’s notes for this album: “Plaguesong was produced under quarantine; there’s minor background sound on occasion. Azure Carter and I worked in a single room, recording with a Zoom H4n, editing in Audition. I’ve kept pursuing speed and its issues, but I’m also playing through isolation, depression, anxiety, and fear. So there are slow hymn movements, breathing slowly, allowing a kind of exhaustion to determine the lengths of speeded elements. I don’t know what kind of music this is, but it’s a kind that suits me, and suits Azure as well. It’s certainly music that goes closer to the edge than anything I’ve done before. We’ve looked out on snow and rain, high winds, violent storms, sunny days. We’ve known deaths of others. The music sinks into the ground, always getting closer to the roots that make it sound. The room has little resonance; I’ve ordered that. I’ve also decided not to name the instruments for the most part; it’s the music and space that’s important. It carries a sense of urgency and ululation. It’s part of us.”

Alan Sondheim made two albums for ESP-Disk’ in the ‘60s; he returned to ESP in 2014, and this is his third album since then, the first on ESP to include longtime partner Azure Carter, and his fifth overall on the label. Sondheim, who has prolifically spread his recent musical evolution across a variety of other labels, is an impulsive musical adventurer who uses his dizzying array of instruments for what their sounds can contribute to his musical style; he is not unaware of the traditional performance techniques of his instruments, but he never lets his musical expression be limited by or to those techniques. His band Ritual All 70 was included on the notorious Nurse with Wound list of outsider/avant-garde influences.

Azure Carter is a singer/songwriter living in Providence, RI.  She is a frequent collaborator on music, video, and performance with her partner, Alan Sondheim. Before moving to Providence, Carter lived in NYC and performed at numerous venues in the city and elsewhere, including the 92nd Street Y, Dance New Amsterdam, The Bowery Poetry Club, Eyebeam, Jack, and Highwire Gallery. She has recorded six albums; this is her first album with ESP-Disk.

Track Listing:

01. As Aboves So O As Below

02. Creatures

03. Dad

04. Depress

05. Derelict

06. Guqin

07. Lada

08. Maya

09. Mno

10. Mourning Song

11. Musima

12. My Life

13. Never

14. Plague Hymn

15. Promised Land

16. Pulse

17. Qifteli

18. Rababa

19. Sentence

20. Snarl

21. Temperature

22. Violab

23. World

Personnel: Azure Carter: voice, lyrics, and instruments; Alan Sondheim: instruments

Press Quotes: re: Ritual-All-7-70: "...if there is a concept here, it’s extremely simple: you never heard such sounds in your life." Clifford Allen, Bagatellen

Musicians: Alan Sondheim & Azure Carter

Digital download Choice of WAVs or MP3s
Compact Disk CDR in wallet package
  • Product Code: ESP5057
  • Availability: 2-3 Days
  • CD $9.99
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart

Related Products



Alan Sondheim was the young, exuberant leader of a pack of improvisers living in a communal loft in..


T'Other Little Tune

T'Other Little Tune

PersonnelPaul Phillips (tp) Gregert Johnson (fl, picc, moog) John Emigh (ts -2,4) June Sondeim (p, ..


Cutting Board

Cutting Board

Alan Sondheim is the first artist from ESP-Disk's 1964-75 heyday to return, since it was revived in..


Dragon and Phoenix

Dragon and Phoenix

Dragon and Phoenix refers to the names of the sound holes on the Chinese instrument known as the g..