Fay Victor’s SoundNoiseFUNK

Wet Robots

"Few vocalists have the sheer boldness – the outright fearlessness – of Fay Victor as an improviser. The New York native has long been a creative force on the avant-jazz scene, as a singer, bandleader, composer, arranger, and teacher. She has worked on both sides of the Atlantic with the likes of Misha Mengelberg, Roswell Rudd, and Anthony Braxton, along with recording several distinctive albums as a leader. Reviewing her recent disc Absinthe & Vermouth, NPR declared evocatively that Fay’s original songs sound “as if Joni Mitchell wrote lyrics for a lost Betty Carter prog-rock album – and it totally works.” Fay has also recorded edgy blues in a duo with guitarist Anders Nilsson, and she is an inspired re-animator of vintage instrumentals as vocal material, in the spirit of Carmen McRae in Monk; to this end, Fay has performed with her In Praise of Ornette group and with her house-rocking Herbie Nichols Sung band.

"Now we have on record Fay’s SoundNoiseFUNK quartet, featuring Joe Morris, Sam Newsome, and Reggie Nicholson – each an exceptional maker of music in the moment. Although Fay enjoyed a rapport with each of these players in various combinations, this foursome had never played together as a unit before the single summer day last year when Wet Robots was captured in a Brooklyn studio. If jazz is the sound of surprise, this album startles – a sonic funhouse of left turns. The band floats in its own space, untethered by a bass. Morris’s guitar moves like a snake. Newhouse keens, taps, sighs on the straight horn. Nicholson makes his percussion set-up a skittering, rattling thing. Then there is Fay – her voice primal and wild, as attuned to unfettered expression as Albert Ayler’s tenor." - from Bradley Bambarger's liner notes

This is Fay Victor's first album as a leader released on an American label other than her own Greene Street Music, but she is already a star on the New York avant-jazz scene.


Fay Victor, vocals, lyrics

Sam Newsome, soprano saxophone

Joe Morris, electric guitar

Reggie Nicholson, drums

Track List:

01. Funky Dunk                                 3:55

02. A Witness in the Wilderness     5:24

03. Information Highway                 5:16

04. Police Lights and Sirens            7:20

05. Squeeze Bottle                            5:01

06. The Blues Are Always Free        5:51

07. Creative Folks!                             4:49

08. Textured Pines                          10:00

09. Whistling on a Skateboard        7:18

10. I Sing                                              7:44

11. The Ha-Ha's                                  1:56

12. Holding Back the Scream           7:03

Total time                                          66:37


Press Quotes about Fay Victor:

“artistically complete” - The New York Times

“a thrilling improviser” - Downbeat

Musicians: Fay Victor / Joe Morris / Sam Newsome / Reggie Nicholson

Digital download Choice of WAVS or MP3s
Compact Disk Digipak with liner notes
  • Product Code: ESP5025
  • Availability: In Stock
  • CD $12.98
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart

Related Products



Joe Morris returns both to the guitar and to ESP-Disk' with the long form improvisa..




The great improvising guitarist, Joe Morris, returns with Luther Gray on drums and ..