Gabriel Zucker


Zucker's first ESP-Disk' album, Evergreen (Canceled World) (ESP5017), was made with his big band, The Delegation. His second is a quartet, with Delegation members Adam O'Farrill and Eric Trudel joined by acclaimed drummer Tyshawn Sorey. A suite inspired by Rachel Kushner's novel The Flamethrowers,Weighting is a spacious mix of composition and improvisation, frequently intimate — sometimes consisting of just intertwined sax and trumpet lines —but occasionally punctuated with rowdy outbursts or densely woven passages.

Track Listing:

1. Would It Come Back To You?

2. The Uselessness of Truth / Not To Be Anything More

3. The Stream of New York / and art, of course

4. Missing Our Appointments With Each Other

5. What's left (when we are always honest) / The Future Was A Place

6. a movie, a lover

7. Dissimulation / Not Knowing It At The Time

8. the stones in my pockets



Gabriel Zucker: piano, compositions; Tyshawn Sorey: drums; Adam O'Farrill: trumpet; Eric Trudel: saxophone


The Vinyl District review grade: A

NYC Jazz Record “Best Debuts of the Year” list

“Zucker's advanced compositional work is knotty, unpredictable, and utterly satisfying. Spinning with freshness and maturity, Weighting is put forward with a sterling avant-garde posture that reflects the artistry and commitment of the musicians involved.” –

Musicians: Delegation / Gabriel Zucker

Digital download Choice of WAVs or MP3s
Compact Disk Digipak
  • Product Code: ESP5027
  • Availability: In Stock
  • CD $12.98
  • WAV Download $8.99
  • MP3 Download $8.99

Add to Cart

Related Products

Evergreen (Canceled World)

Evergreen (Canceled World)

The Delegation is a project of young phenom Gabriel Zucker that mixes jazz, classical, electronica,..


Leftover Beats from the Edge of Time

Leftover Beats from the Edge of Time

The latest release from polymath and musical maximalist Gabriel Zucker is a sprawling and ambitiou..